collapse

* User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

* Who's Online

Dot Guests: 198 | Dot Users
Dot Hidden: 0

* Board Stats

• stats Total Members: 12992
  • stats Total Posts: 130653
  • stats Total Topics: 18283
  • stats Total Categories: 5
  • stats Total Boards: 48
  • stats Most Online: 814

* Advertisers

Gear Pan
The lil Gold Spinner
BC GOLD
The lil Gold Spinner
The Pocket Sluice

Author Topic: Can someone PLEASE run my concentrate and tell me what I have? I need help!  (Read 9764 times)

Offline perduepro

• Kudos: 0
Thank you, I am currently looking for a good mini sluice.

What is the difference between assaying and smelting?

Offline Blister

• PPT Invited
  • Kudos: 0
 Like you I'm a newb at this, and all I know is book learning and nothing first hand. Keeping that in mind I'll take a shot at this and see if the book leaning has paid off. Assaying is taking a small sample and testing to see what the precious metal content is,  Smelting is basically the same idea, but on a much larger scale. Raw gold isn't pure, and smelting is used to drive off or separate the gold from the impurities, resulting in 99.99% pure gold.

Offline Phouse

• PPT Invited
  • Kudos: 2
  • Don't I Wish
perduepro;

Assaying is a process which establishes the percentages of metals in a given sample, it is the first step in the mining process. 

Smelting is the precipitation of metals through heat, gravitational, and chemical processes from a  chemically, geologically and statistically proven ore source.  Smelting, naturally,  only takes place once the  "ore finder" has reached a deal with the Owner of the Smelter to pay over a bag full of money for each ton.  He personnally needs to be really sure about his prospect to absorb the full costs of production.  Smelting is the very last physical step in the mining process.  After this the product is lost into the hands of those who brought us sub-prime mortaging.