collapse

* User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

* Who's Online

Woodspiritbeav

Dot Guests: 138 | Dot Users
Dot Hidden: 0

* Board Stats

• stats Total Members: 12977
  • stats Total Posts: 130236
  • stats Total Topics: 18221
  • stats Total Categories: 5
  • stats Total Boards: 48
  • stats Most Online: 814

* Advertisers

Gear Pan
The lil Gold Spinner
BC GOLD
The lil Gold Spinner
The Pocket Sluice

Author Topic: Newbee Placer miner & Highbanker design  (Read 1104 times)

Offline Golden ticket

• Province/State: BC
  • Kudos: 0
Newbee Placer miner & Highbanker design
« on: February 25, 2019, 05:55:17 PM »
Hi Everyone! I just got my FML for the first time and acquired a claim on the Fraser river by Spuzzum. I am so excited as I have been panning on and off my whole life and have decided to get serious about it since my kids want to do it and it gives me an excuse to get out camping. I am a Mechanical designer by occupation so I am designing a 10" x 48" highbanker used with a 1.5" pump. I am designing it so I can pack it in with a game back pack I picked up for a moose hunt. I am getting close and will build it soon. So far it weighs 22.5 lbs but I think I can shave some weight off it after running an FEA. A few questions: How long should the grizzly bars be? I am using 3/8" gap between them. Is this optimal? What angle should the sluice and Hopper be at?  I will be making this adjustable with the support arm and adjustable legs. I am using some Ideas from Dan Hurds You Tube video such as his water delivery system which seems to make a lot of sense. He sprays up from the bottom and has a constant flow from the top. I think I will be building 2 and selling one to fund my pump, Let me know if anyone is interested. I am thinking about $400.

Offline mcbain

• PPT Invited
  • Province/State: hope bc
  • Kudos: 132
Re: Newbee Placer miner & Highbanker design
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2019, 06:41:19 PM »