collapse

* User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

* Who's Online

Dot Guests: 159 | Dot Users
Dot Hidden: 0

* Board Stats

• stats Total Members: 13020
  • stats Total Posts: 131083
  • stats Total Topics: 18334
  • stats Total Categories: 5
  • stats Total Boards: 48
  • stats Most Online: 814

* Advertisers

Mining Claims
Gear Pan
The lil Gold Spinner
BC GOLD
The lil Gold Spinner
The Pocket Sluice

Author Topic: can a cheaper metal detector detect placer gold?  (Read 32718 times)

Offline skodaboy23

• Kudos: 1
can a cheaper metal detector detect placer gold?
« on: July 29, 2013, 07:10:00 PM »
Hi All, I'm new to prospecting and gold panning, but I got into it heavy this spring and summer and I'm looking to get some more equipment.
  I'm liking the looks of the little hand pumped suckers, and also was wondering if a cheap (300$) metal detector would be helpful prospecting?  I was looking at the entry level garrett ace or bounty hunter 2200, but would this be a waste of money and time?
  I don't think I'm ready to drop 1000$ on a detector yet.  Any comments or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

cheers

Offline XT18000

• PPT Invited
  • Kudos: 24
  • Better prospecting through chemistry
Re: can a cheaper metal detector detect placer gold?
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2013, 06:35:00 PM »

Placer gold is normally to fine to be detected with most metal detectors, the reason being is the lack

of mass. most have trouble detecting small link ( fine gold links ) chains for the same reason; you have all

those tiny particles  but there not connected to give them mass. Mass is what creates the magnetic response

to the detectors transmitted signal that you hear as a beep, ( this is a quick and dirty explanation ).

I said most detectors will not detect placer gold, the old "gold spear" detector would but only if its probe